Skip to content

Wake Up Calls

May 26, 2013

Wake Up CallI’m doing a little experiment on Twitter. In addition to my continued random Tweets about a little bit of everything, I’ve been posting a tweet at 6:05 AM Eastern time every day since May 5th. I started ending these tweets with the hashtag #WakeUpCall a few days later on May 10th. I don’t know how long I’ll keep it up, but its been kind of fun trying to find something thought provoking, inspiring, or funny to post as a daily kick-off. So why am I calling them “wake up calls”? Well, one obvious reason is that these are posted early in the morning around the time most people are getting up and starting their day, but there are some other reasons.

What do you think of when you hear the term “wake up call?” I’m betting it is one of two emotions: 1) dread at having to wake up and get out of bed earlier than you’d like (think about a hotel wake up call, or your annoying alarm clock), or 2) a call to action (think about how you felt after hearing an inspiring speech or hearing about a great injustice in the world). Wake up calls in either of these instances are meant to initiate action, either to simply get you out of bed, or to motivate you toward a bigger goal.

I hope my Twitter Wake Up Calls will do that both for myself and for you. I hope you’ll find some inspiration, some humor, and some calls to action that will be as much a Wake Up Call for you as they are for me. If you’d like to share some of your favorite “Tweetable” inspirations, please leave them in the comments, and if you want me to consider posting them as one of my daily Wake Up Calls on Twitter, let me know, and add your Twitter name. If I choose to use it, I’ll give you credit. Now WAKE UP and live an inspired, and inspiring, life…and while you’re at it follow me on Twitter!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

